February, a month of extremes.

Why is February a month of extremes? This past weekend I went to Vermont with a group of friends where we stayed in a very cool A-frame house and got to go skiing. That was extreme fun. Meanwhile, in New York City and the surrounding area, there was a huge blizzard! Extreme weather. Next week, I am leaving for Panama to begin my adventure with the Peace Corps. That is an extreme in its own category, certainly.

I am starting this blog for friends and family who would like to read about my adventures! Next week is the beginning of training, which lasts three months. During training I am not technically a volunteer yet (I will be a volunteer if I successfully complete training and am sworn in). I am not sure what kind of access I will have to a computer or the internet. I recently found out training will be in a community in the La Chorrera district in the Province of Panama Oeste, which is about 2 hours away from Panama City (see map). I will do my best to share the work I am doing as well as the things I am learning, the places I go, and of course pictures I take.

panama_relief

Here are some pictures from the past 5 years I have spent in New York City with wonderful people. Not only have I had some great jobs and worked with amazing people, I have made the best of friends. If my excessive use of positive adjectives is not enough to get the point across, what I mean to say  is I love New York City and all of the experiences I have had here. I am sure I will be back one day!

IMG_6495

NYU Graduation at Yankee Stadium.

With Grandma on top of the Met.

With Grandma on top of the Met.

44806_1567436143431_3010073_n

Urban Park Rangers Summer Camp Counselors meet Birds of Prey!

That’s all for now. Next stop: Panama!

One thought on “February, a month of extremes.

  1. I enjoyed your newsletter. You sound so excited and looking forward to a wonerful experience. I’ll stay posted . love , Nana

Leave a Reply

