3 Months in Panama!!

Image

The winners of the recycling competition in school this week. The students collected 7,221 cans this month!

The following are photographs from my first few weeks in site! Today marks three months of being in Panama! I have been drinking coffee, eating mangoes, learning how to gut chickens, exploring, taking jumping photos, learning what it means to be Peace Corps volunteer, and so on. I have been spending time in the school getting to know the kids and teachers. I have also been doing a lot of pasearing. I have started helping with the women´s group that makes jewelry and bags out of recycled materials. I am really excited to work more with them in the future! Next week I will be helping with a camp that Lauren (the volunteer I am replacing) and a few other Peace Corps volunteers have been planning. The camp will be about leadership, future planning, and creativity! I am going to help teach (shout out to Battery Park) making musical instruments out of recycled materials. Until I think of more to say, enjoy the photos!

Image

If you look closely, you can see Lago Gatun behind me!

Image

The piñata exploding with flour at a Birthday Party.

Image

Students wearing polleras, preparing for a traditional punto.

Image

The view from behind the house I am staying in.

Image

My host brother and sister!!

Image

Lauren (the volunteer who has been in my site for the past 2 years) and I were convinced by the teachers to be the marching band for a parade around the school with torches.

Image

The 9th grade class with their torches.

Image

Two members of the women´s group and myself at a Recycling Fair. The women make all of the bags and jewelry out of snack bags, magazines, and other recycled materials.

Image

coloring on a rainy day!

Image

A bullet ant!!

Image

There are tons of these huge rocks spread throughout the community!

Image

ARROZ CON POLLO!

ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

